One Book Northland


One Book Northland 2024 Book Choice:

Disability Visibility: First-Person Stories from the Twenty-First Century


2024 marks the 23rd year the One Book project has brought Northland communities together to celebrate reading. The One Book Northland committee is pleased to announce the selected title is Disability Visibility: First-Person Stories from the Twenty-First Century edited by Alice Wong.

Alice Wong created the Disability Visibility Project in 2014 to bring awareness to the over 61 million people who live with disability in the United States. The aim of the project was to collect people’s oral stories in order to preserve their experience living in a world designed for non-disabled people. In 2020, Wong gathered collected stories into the anthology Disability Visibility: First Person Stories from the Twenty-First Century. In it, she includes congressional testimonies, blog posts, eulogies, and more. Disability Visibility is an incredibly important piece of history, relevant to people of all ages and backgrounds, regardless of disability status. The One Book Northland committee is extremely excited to share it with the community in  the hope of starting meaningful conversation around disability and how it affects our lives, whether we identify as disabled or not.

Throughout the month of April, participating organizations will host unique events that highlight Disability Visibility and foster connection within our Northland communities. On Saturday, April 27 from 12:00 to 4:30 p.m., the Duluth Public Library is set to host a Visibility Fair at the Main Library (520 W. Superior St.) in partnership with the following organizations: Access North, CHOICE Unlimited, City of Duluth Commission on Disabilities, Disability HUB, Duluth Aging Support, Lighthouse Center for Vital Living, Make the Connection, MidMinnesota Legal Aid-Minnesota Disability Law Center, STRIDE, and The Arc Northland. Learn more about how these organizations serve, empower, and advocate for disabled Northlanders and contribute to the day’s community art project. That day, local musician and disability culture advocate Gaelynn Lea will share a presentation at 1:00 p.m., which will then open up to a community book discussion.

Look for a complete program guide the first week of April at any of these locations: Duluth Public Library, Cloquet Public Library, Superior Public Library, Two Harbors Public Library, UMD Kathryn A. Martin Library, Bookstore at Fitger’s, Barnes & Noble, and Zenith Bookstore.

The One Book Northland committee includes representatives from the community, Duluth Public Library, Cloquet Public Library, Superior Public Library, Two Harbors Public Library, University of Minnesota Duluth, the College of St. Scholastica, UW Superior’s Jim Dan Hill Library, Fond Du Lac Tribal Community College, Superior Save the Kids, Barnes & Noble, Bookstore at Fitger’s, and Zenith Bookstore.               


Save the date:

Saturday, April 27 • Main Library • 520 W Superior St.

Disability Visibility Fair 12-4pm

Keynote by Gaelynn Lea 1-2pm

Community Book Discussion 2-3



Previous One Book Northland titles

2023 The Wolf's Trail: An Ojibwe Story, Told by Wolves by Dr. Thomas Peacock
2022 Gichigami Hearts: Stories and Histories from Misaabekong by Linda Legarde Grover
2021 The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead
2020 Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson
2019 Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling
2018 The Wind and the Drum by Katharine Johnson
2017 Locally Laid: How We Built a Plucky, Industry-Changing Egg Farm - From Scratch by Lucie Amundsen
2016: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown 
2015: The Dance Boots by Linda LeGarde Grover 
2014: The Cellist of Sarajevo by Steven Galloway
2013: Clara and Mr. Tiffany by Susan Vreeland 
2012: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
2011: Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford
2010: Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver
2009 Population 485 by Michael Perry
2008: Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson
2007: The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
2006: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
2005: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
2004: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
2003: Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom
2002: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

In this Section

Follow Us